• 2014 IHRA NZ Nationals Finalised: 5th April 2014

The 2014 IHRA New Zealand Nationals held at Fram Autolite Dragway in Meremere were marred by rain and the remainder of the meeting was rescheduled to be completed on April 5. The remaining rounds were successfully completed, thanks to great co-operation with Bay Rodders who were conducting their Club Champs meeting.

Simon Fowke was unable to return leaving Chris Johnston in the Vernon and Vazey dragster to solo for the Arrow Wheels Top Alcohol title. Chris didn't take it easy though and unleashed a 5.694 at a record equalling 249.81 mph to earn his eighth nationals title.

Rod Benjes was also unable to return leaving Mark Bardsley to solo for the P & I Pascoe Cartage Top Doorslammer title. The Rislone Camaro broke a blower belt and Mark recorded a 9.541 at 83.03 which was not how he wanted to win his third nationals title. Photo by Popeye Pics

Rod Harvey, in the Smith Timber Celica, top qualified in Franklin Long Run Roofing Supercharged Outlaws and won the final with a 6.908 at 180.38 when his opponent, Graham Christison redlighted his chance away. Photo by Maria Panova

NZ Hot Rod Magazine Competition Eliminator saw the two quickest cars meet in the final. Raymond Gubb top qualified with a 7.060 on a 6.80 index. His opponent was Karen Hay in the twin turbo roadster. Karen qualified with a 7.733 on a 6.99 index and improved considerably to a 6.896 at 200.08 to beat Raymonds 7.253 at 162.31 mph.


Bracket Winner Runner Up
Arrow Wheels Top Alcohol Chris Johnston Simon Fowke
P & I Pascoe Cartage Top Doorslammer Mark Barsley Rod Benjes
Franklin Long Run Roofing Supercharged Outlaws Rod Harvey Graham Christison
NZ Hot Rod Magazine Competition Karen Hay Raymond Gubb
VHT Top Street Joel Marsh Paul Johnston
Outback 4X4 Super Sedan Anthony Wijdeven Robbie Ward
Jack Perry Super Street Paul Berridge Jody & Anthony Lewis
Auckland Motorcycles & Power Sports Competition Bike Spike Allen Bill Hamilton
Scrap Palace Modified Bike Ross Donaldson Alistair Galbraith
Funtime Food & Amusements Junior Dragster Trevor Smith Tony Wijdeven